Capital adventures

By marchmont

Yellow chrysanthemums

The sun shone today so I got washing done and out.  I didn't go swimming though, too tired. What a week! After a morning of housework (see above) I had to phone Vax as the new carpetwasher had failed.  A replacement will be sent. But I had to go down on hands and knees with a scrubbing brush in the interim. 

Then suddenly it was time to get changed and go out.  A quick wheek to return one thing and pick up another.  The traffic from Nicolson Street north is awful and I thought I was going to be late.  

I was, slightly, but L and T had got there early, before the restaurant opened, and this resulted in a panicked phone call.  That was the first thing to go wrong tonight.

We had a lovely meal at Suruchi and then headed across to the Festival Theatre for the 'Marriage of Figaro'.  As you do at the opera (!), I bumped into people I knew; Lorraine my former piano teacher from half a century ago, and R and K from Greyfriars.  

The next thing to go wrong was a huge queue to get into the Dress Circle, only to be told we were on the wrong level so down and up to get to the correct seating area.  Then I looked behind me and saw the Chief Exec of the theatre, D, a former colleague from ACC days.  That meant a complaint could be made straight to the boss and later I got an apology and an explanation.  It was to do with 'print at home' tickets. 

The third thing was not being able to find L in the crush scrum at the interval so she never got her drink and we never got a chat.  It was heaving, and she was not amused.

Luckily, the opera was brilliant.  Imaginative staging, great singing and playing and good seat, even if with restricted leg room.

L and T shot off at the end to get the train.  I got a very crowded #47 home.

I watched a bit of the VJ Day commemorations this morning.  The Japanese ceremony featured massed yellow chrysanths.  In memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.