Looking Forward...

By Fiono

Bye bye Basel

How apt that my second Blip birthday is the end of my second year-long project - the year abroad. I barely slept last night and before I knew it was time to head to the airport and say goodbye to Switzerland and hello to Scotland! My parents met me at the airport and I enjoyed my first proper chippy in many months this evening.

There's a song from the musical "Rent" called "Seasons of Love" which lists different ways you can measure a year - in daylights, in sunsets, in midnights, in cups of coffee, in love and many more. How would I measure this year? In train tickets, in cheese, in chocolate, in cake/Kuchen, in countries visited (11 I think!), in Skype calls, in friends made, in visitors (more than I could have imagined!), in confetti, in chemistry experiments and so much more. Placement year has been memorable. I've gotten to work as a chemist during the week and see the world at the weekends. I'm unlikely to have a year like this again.

For those of you reading my blips for the first or the 730th time, thank you, or as the German-speaking Swiss say, merci vielmal.

Until the next project, blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.