Throckmorton Washout - Sorry, Airshow.

What a dreadful day for an airshow, I was really surprised that the aircraft that did show up did so.
I was extremely lucky to get this shot as we were given notice that the Red Arrows were on their way but as I was working in the Vulcan to the Sky Club tent I was busy for a while. We heard the announcement that they were in sight and I rushed out, turning the camera on, and just managed to fling the camera in the air as they shot overhead.
There wasn't a second chance, they were on their way to Cosford, I think, and were flying over but not doing a display.

There was also a Harvard, Provost, Glider aerobatics (very brave considering the weather), Apache helicopter, and the Spitfire made an appearance but I only got one decent shot of her as we were packing up at the time.
Everyone packed in early, it was just such a dreadful day with torrential rain and gales.
Help for Heroes totally lost one of their gazebos, the frame was even broken when it hit the fence after going up like a para-glider and coming back down to earth.
It was a real shame as the whole show was in aid of H4H and there can't have been more than a couple of hundred people turned up whereas there would normally be 5000 or more.
We, Vulcan to the Sky, took more in raffle tickets than we did in merchandise. Lets hope we do better at Cosford although I won't be there. My next show is RIAT Fairford, in the Club Tent and maybe making a special cameo appearance in the Vulcan Village to say hello to people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.