Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Should be called hovering bird...

The only way I am able to catch good inflight hummie pics is to wait until they hover - unfortunately, the hovering rarely lasts more than a few seconds, so I have shot many empty frames.  And many more blurry messes.  But, sometimes it all just works and this was one of those times.  This kind of makes up for the 100+ shots I took this morning that were total rubbish.  

It is currently 91 F (33 C) outside which is uncomfortably warm friggin' hot!  So, I've spent a good part of the day doing house work, balancing bank accounts, paying bills and other mundane things.  Today is one of the only times I've actually seen a hummingbird thermoregulating - all the birds were looking hot today.  

A male monarch visiting the garden today and for the briefest few seconds, shared the buddleia with a fritillary.  And the hummers were busy launching high speed attacks on each other.  The level of aggression is definitely increasing and I've moved some of the feeders further apart to try to lessen the territorial disputes.  I saw one poor hummer today with a whole patch of feathers missing, probably from a scuffle with another hummer.  

Thank you to eveyrone who has visited my journal in the last few days - your comments, hearts and stars humble me.  

Happy Monday.

Oh, and if you can't live without a couple of other hummer shots, check these out...
Youngster hovering ( believe this MAY be the little fledgling that showed up last week - markings look right.)
It was THIS big!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.