mef13

By mef13

Summer Colour

While I cannot profess to figure gardening among my favourite pastimes, the little time I have spent there this summer is now bearing fruit. Or perhaps more accurately, the time my wife has spent there, and it's bearing blooms rather than fruit,
But we did spend a couple of hours or more over the weekend, and more time today, clearing borders and around the edges in an attempt to make things more respectable. And indeed to show off the flowers at their best.
My lack of activity in the garden is in complete contrast to my upbringing - I recall that both my father and both grandfathers had quite large gardens all planted out, unlike ours which is mostly grass. And I remember they had neat rows of predominantly vegetables rather than flowers. I recall that as a youngster whenever we visited grandparents or anyone else, a conducted tour of the garden was always obligatory.
Come to think of it, it might have been those. Sunday morning walks around someone else's veg patch that gave me a jaundiced view about gardening as s hobby.
But don't get me wrong, when our garden is up together we love to spend time in it. And just like my grandad I relish showing off the colour like this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.