Installation?

There are about two dozen of these life size figures scattered around a central plaza in the shopping district of downtown Seattle, and the same plaza has its fair share of folks who have no home or bed but the sidewalk. Kind of striking, the figure in its nakedness next to this kind of reality.

I felt a new sense of relationship to those without, be it most temporary for me; somehow I got downtown after a yoga class to cruise the galleries without my wallet and no cash tucked away in a pocket or section of my bag either. It was sobering, knowing this is the day in day out reality for so many people, people I often walk by with that sense of powerlessness to change their lives that so many others like me also have.

But today I would have loved two dollars for a cup of coffee and somehow maybe that has hit home a little deeper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.