Golden August Meadow Sunrise

We've had some extreme heat the past few days, and I admit I've been struggling with it. I am a lover of all of our beautiful seasons, but the part I find most challenging personally is getting through the high heat of summer.

Mornings are still a good time to be out. It may be damp, but it's not too hot, at least not yet. And so on this morning, I was out and about right at dawn, checking out the misty morning in a little meadow across the road from where we live.

It gets so damp in the mornings in August, and indeed there was a haze hanging over everything. When I arrived, there was a pale yellow light in the sky but no sun yet. I walked around admiring the fancy cobwebs strung with dew. And then I watched quietly as the haze caught fire and turned golden with the rising of the sun.

You may note, as I did, that a single bug is on the wing at this early hour (middle of photo, far right). The meadow creatures were just starting to stir to life. And so I figured that the bug had just awakened on a dew-damp plant and taken to the wing; in fact, perhaps it was one of the first bugs aloft on this day, enjoying the delights of a golden August meadow sunrise.

The song I selected as the soundtrack for this image just had to be from Neil Diamond's marvelous 1972 release, Hot August Night, which I submit to you is one of the best live performances ever recorded, by any artist. I could pick any song from it and be happy. So here is Neil Diamond with Canta Libre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.