Bringing work home

I had to do a late water sample on the way home tonight, we had a burst watermain down in the Port area in the early hours of this morning. This is  a high risk area for water contamination if a main bursts because the ground is reclaimed. A water sample is a simple task with a great deal of accountability,from sterilising the sampling point , the chain of custody and the hand over at the lab.If I take a sample and I am more than 1 hour from the Lab the sample has to be packed in ice to stop any temperature rise. In this case my sample is overnighting in the fridge at home. The water sample is tested for E Coli and Fecal Coliforms, if these were to contaminate the water supply it would cause a high number of casualties and the most serious effect is that this type of contamination could even be Fatal. Hence I take my job very seriously as the public's health is in my hands

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.