From Green to Red

From green to red, the tomatoes grow,
as if on a mission.
To get from the plot in my back yard...
to be used up in my kitchen.

From green to red, the tomatoes tread,
their journey...it's unknown.
Will it be chili? Will it be sauce?
Or baked up in a calzone?

From green to red, the tomatoes ripen,
under the blaze of the giant star.
Until they get to a cherry color,
to brighten the salad bar.

From green to red, the tomatoes advance.
PLEASE WAIT! I'M STILL GREEN!
Cut into slices, and into some batter,
then slathered in saltines.

From green to red, the tomatoes develop...
I'll admit...I don't like them.
But, my Dad, he doth foam at the mouth...
so I take them over to him.

From green to red, the tomatoes mature.
Could they be used in a salsa dip?
Probably none of the above will happen...
but they make for a colorful blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.