madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Heavy Rain!

Met up with an old friend from work who was back in Plymouth for a few days. We always go to Cotehele for a cream tea  and although it was heavy rain and I suggested Tavistock she wanted her cream tea there as usual! On arrival we stopped in the Barn for lunch, where two women tried queue jumping – realsing I was looking at them they asked if we were queing, “Yes” I said abruptly – what part of standing in a line at the counter does not constitute a queue – she defended herself to her friend by saying “They are deciding what to have, we know what we are having”  “Bully for you” I felt like saying! But decided just to ignore them and take even longer ordering!!!
In the house after I continued to annoy people by taking photographs and being in the way of where they wanted to stand and look! Oh I was on a roll today! Wasn’t even trying to be awkward! I was in fact in a very good mood, but everyone else was miserable because of the weather so were sending out misery vibes! I chatted to every NT man  guarding each room – really they sit there, a fount of knowledge, and they may just as well be a piece of the furniture for all the notice people take of them! They were all very chatty and smiley and seemed to enjoy the attention! 
The house itself is dark! I mean put the camera on ISO 1600 at one point, 400-800 the rest of the time! Oh man what a learning curve! The walls are hung with tapestries that need to be kept from fading. I also discovered sets of 3 glass round bottles in the corridors that had me puzzled – on asking the man in the kitchen I discovered they were fire extinguishers! Filled with salt or sodium bicarbonate in water! Mini water bombs I have no doubt were completely ineffective for all but the smallest of flames! I also discovered Trench Art in a WW1 room exhibition. Totally amazing what they made from shell cases. All can be seen here!
During our cream tea down at the café on the quay I was intrigued by a conversation between a very young couple. Both very nicely spoken, the girl was demanding of her partner if he was going to put away his phone and talk to her. Much laterI tuned into them again as she was telling him the history of the phones she had owned! Ha! I thought – no wonder he was looking at his own phone, how boring, but when she finally finished ( for a young girl she seemed to have had an awful lot of phones!) he then told her all the phones he had owned! Seriously – is this all people have to talk about?!!!
Friend finally left – with a box of resources from my stash! I’m getting good at giving things away! 
Yes my laptop is still running slow – no I have not had time to clean it up – yes I will do so tomorrow!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.