Today's Special

By Connections

Morning Saunter

I was up and out earlier than usual today to take one of our cars in to Harmony Motorworks for an oil change, and rather than sitting and waiting while that was done, as I would have in the past, I took a walk in search of photos and steps.

The weather has changed to cooler and overcast, although there is no sign of much-needed rain. That meant dull light, so I switched my camera to the Dramatic Tone mode and wandered around streets I'm usually driving on. There's so much more to see while walking!

What you see here is a "bike box," which makes room "for bikes at a red light between the crosswalk and the first car in line," the Bellingham Herald recently reported. Bicyclists in the bike lane next to the curb now can move to the "front of the line" in the bike boxes, located at certain intersections with traffic lights. Cars are required to stop behind the bike boxes at the indicated "wait here" point, as seen on the left in my photo.

Many folks in Bellingham are avid bicyclists, and it's one of 68 communities in the United States to receive a silver or gold award from the American League of Bicyclists for being bicycle-friendly (more here). These additional safety measures should make Bellingham even friendlier for bicyclists!

Blip 1330

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.