Today's Special

By Connections

Action vs. Beauty

I had trouble deciding which image of this male Meadowhawk Dragonfly to use for my blip today, but in the end, the opportunity to show his prowess as a hunter, eating another member of the insect world, won me over. One of the extra photos shows him about halfway through this little snack, clearly ingesting something small with blue-green wings.

I'd never seen a dragonfly hunting before -- it's very impressive! This lad of less than two inches in length would dart away from his slender perch and nine times out of ten return with something tasty. Even with my naked eye, I could see him munching away.

The other extra photo is a full frontal portrait, showing the beauty of this Meadowhawk's wings.

(I spent more time than I should this afternoon researching this little wonder, but never determined to my satisfaction exactly which branch of the Meadowhawk clan he could claim. If you enjoy looking at dragonflies, do take a look at this!)

Blip 1329

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.