For Aynil

Many here subscribe to Aynil, who lives in Istanbul. She has brought the beauties of her city and country to us through her photos and words, and shared her warmth, compassion, and enthusiasm through her comments on our journals.

Aynil made her first visit to the USA this summer, along with her parents and daughter, to visit her brother and his family in California from July 21 to August 20. I've enjoyed seeing my country through her eyes, and wanted to do a "thank you" and "safe travels home" blip for Aynil, so today I photographed the only souvenir I brought back from my visit to Turkey in 1973.

At the top, there is a nazar, an eye-shaped amulet believed to protect against the evil eye, followed by a small brass bell and a turquoise bead. Below that (not shown in this image) are two more small brass bells, spaced along the chain. These hanging bells are on an arbor in our back yard, where I see them often.

Every time I see them now, I will think of Aynil and her family, and of how wonderful it is that through Blipfoto, we are able to get to know people all over the world, see what their lives are like, and share ours with them.

I hope you return to the United States again, Aynil -- we will meet in person for sure next time!

Blip 1013

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.