Very watchful

Nevertheless, this kotare allowed me to approach to about 10 metres away when I took this photo. It was one of many sitting on the rocks and clumps of sand exposed by the falling tide this afternoon. Once before I saw as many kotare as this, and was unable to get anywhere near as close. It being mid afternoon, on a sunny and almost cloudless early spring day, I was able to get onto the sunward side of the kotare, and really show off their colours. 

They don't like humans getting too close and often fly away. I have included in the extras for today, a quick snap of one taking issue with how close I was.

There was a juvenile or perhaps "sub-adult" taranui (caspian tern), which was whistling for its supper (or so it seemed). As I approached, it took flight calling for its parent. I subsequently saw it and the parent together on the mudflats. The young bird was demanding food, and being ignored. It certainly looks big enough to fend for itself. I've added as an extra, one of the photos of that interaction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.