FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

On the mend

Dillion the ginger fluffbucket has been rather poorly over the past week. The family cat, once my brother's pet but now adopted by our parents, is the grand old age of 16.

He has kidney problems, high blood pressure, is almost blind in one eye while losing sight in the other and has arthritis. Ginge hid under the bushes in the garden most of the week but thanks to dad taking good care of him he is now much perkier and back on the sofa.

Ginge enjoyed lots of strokes and attention from me this evening and was purring away like a most contented puss. He has decided to sleep in his (clean) litter tray instead of his bed but at his age he's allowed some quirks.

I'm at Chez Parents for a couple of nights as it's Shoreham Air Show for me tomorrow volunteering with fly2help. My friend Helen and I set up the stand this afternoon, helped by photographer Bob, before saying hello to Airshow Mummie who looks after the logistics side for Pilots and keeps them in good order!

We also met up with Peter Teichmann from Hangar 11 and had a giggle about his Hurricane wheel getting stuck in a rabbit hole a few weeks ago when I was commentating at Bexhill!

Peter has just finished repairing his P40 Kittyhawk after a water pump issue meant he wasn't able to display at Headcorn last weekend. I told Peter I'm very much looking forward to his display tomorrow. He has a busy day displaying at Shoreham before an evening display at Castle Howard for a music concert.

Hoping to catch up with a few of my display pilot pals tomorrow in between talking the talk for aviation charity fly2help. Lots of lemon and ginger tea will be in order as still feeling a bit sore after the three weekends of commentating and busy work weeks, but on the mend now much like Dillion.

Weather forecast is hot hot hot and the agenda is fun fun fun tomorrow with my good friends Helen and Debs for company as well as a dinner date with Debs' brother and friends from the Great War Display Team tomorrow evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.