Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Egg Beater

or, Not...Quite...There...
Look at that wing!  Look at those feet!   I couldn't decide.  But that's a woman's prerogative, especially on her birthday.

This is my first (and second and third and fourth - see the extras) Rufous hummingbird I have ever shot, identified  and posted. I am so thrilled the photographs turned out so well. What a morning!   I italicized the identified  because I believe I posted one which I thought was an Anna's at the time which had rolled around in some dirt!!  How about that for warped thinking?  In the birding world, the orangish-brown color is even referred to as "rufous." 

Now that I know they are around I will be on the lookout for them.  One interesting thing I learned about the Rufous is that they often bully birds bigger than themselves. So I will watch for them to be the aggressor in backyard battles to come.

{Watch her landing.  Photo order:  #4, #3, #2, #1}

Going out to eat Italian with mom and Claudette this evening.  The curse of an Italian restaurant for me is having grown up Italian...I love EVERYTHING PASTA!!!  What to have?  Such a conundrum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.