Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Processing...

A little out of the norm for me in several ways ... a landscape, which I rarely do...and heavily processed which I rarely do.  But it felt like the right thing to do today.  

Hubs and I finally buried Rocket's  ashes today.  We have been putting it off, neither of us quite ready, but with winter coming we knew we had to do it sooner than later.  So, Hubs dug a hole several feet from where Carrie (our collie) is buried.  Don't know why Rocket's death has been so hard for both of us, but it has.  I shed more than a few tears as we filled in the hole - and Hubs cleared his throat more than once.  We'll give Phoebe and Charlie extra hugs.

Today's photo was taken when we were eating lunch at a farm north of here (Anni, Matt, and Hilly will know that place - best sandwiches in NJ, in my opinion).  Across the road from the farm is a huge sunflower field with a lovely old farm in the distance.  It is probably one of the more photographed locations here in Sussex County and I can tell you that the original photo was nothing special (I'll post it in Extras) so it benefited from a bit of processing.  I did an HDR treatment on it and tweaked the levels a bit.  Also got rid of some very unattractive power lines.  I also did a version in mono, but it felt too morose to me.  I'll stick it in Extras too, so you can see what you think.

We are going to have dinner with some friends tonight up in Warwick, NY - just what we need to lift our spirits.

Happy Saturday, people.


PS:  And I would be remiss if I didn't thank you all for the wonderful comments, stars, and faves on my little hummie yesterday - he's currently hovering on the Pops page, thank you!lll

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.