Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just a hummie...

I haven't posted a hummer in four days...it's time.  Already some of the males have left, beginning their long journey south.  And, while the adult males are leaving, more juveniles are arriving - the back yard is a-buzz, literally.  I was having tea on the deck this morning and two hummers, one in hot pursuit of the other, passed so close to my nose that I could feel the breeze created by their wings.  I actually flinched.  They've moved their aerial wars into high gear with every feeder and flower a prize to be protected.  And me --- I listen to the constant chatter and the sound of buzzing wings and I smile.  


This photo is uncropped and slightly lightened - taken with Big Daddy at 400 mm, 1/640, F/6.3, ISO 1250, handheld.

I have spent an undue amount of time inside today - did a couple of Photoshop tutorials and played a bit with the "swirling" technique.  Silly fun and I've posted one of the results HERE if you'd care to have a look.  It started out being a cluster of red milkweed bug nymphs - bears NO resemblance whatsoever to that now.  Two other non-manipulated shots on Flickr, starting HERE

The big accomplishment today was me filing my "Dissolution of Business" papers for my business.  I started the business (coaching and consulting for small business) in 2002 and I had an excellent run for a number of years.  But, I never really got back to 100% after the brain tumor adventure and decided late last year that I'd wind it down this year.  I'll continue doing a small bit of business with assessments, but that I can just do on the side.  Feeling good, but also a bit nostalgic.  

It's Friday ... yay!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.