The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Miss Havisham's Crazy Golf Dress

We set off for the railway station to meet a friend today, and ended up racing the train! It won. Una, my friend who lives in Sri Lanka but is visiting London, has come to stay for a couple of nights. Our first port of call was the Goods Shed, which CleanSteve has written about before. It is a genuine Brunel-designed Goods Shed, which was saved by the Stroud Preservation Trust, restored in 2010-11, and now leased to the Stroud Valleys Artspace who use it for large gigs, exhibitions and events. The main part of the building was open to the elements for years, which is why you can see graffitti on the walls.

August's theme is Crazy Golf See . http://emmabradshaw.blogspot.co.uk/2015/08/crazy-golf.html Several local artists were invited to create artwork as an installation for the golf holes. For this challenge, created by artist Corinne Hockley, a ball had to be putted under the dress, along tramlines which fizzled out for a while and then resumed, and fall into a hole between a pair of handmade paper shoes. I couldn't putt straight for the life of me, but later when Una asked me to pose for a shot in front of the dress. I putted thoughtlessly and scored a Zen hole-in-one! I suppose that should be my blip, but Una has gone to bed.

Afterwards, we shopped in Stroud's Saturday markets and the precinct; and had a superbThai lunch for two for the three of of us, which would easily have served six. The sun was blazing, and we were able to eat outside the big old-fashioned hotel in Stroud's station approach. Totally unexpected and wonderful.

Afterwards, I took Una for a history and nature walk along the canal: westward to Lodgemore and Fromehall Mill; then back around the backs of the lakeside houses, and eastward to Bowbridge Lock, where the new lock gates have been installed. I thought Una might be impressed by them, but I'd forgotten that she used to live in Panama! I was excited to see them finally in place.

We snoozed in the garden at home, until the weather suddenly changed to stormy. A great drive followed, over the Cotswold escarpment in driving rain, to Cheltenham, where we'd booked a table at Brasserie Blanc for Steve's birthday dinner. This did not disappoint, though my favourite part was the appetiser of anchoiade, and the kir. I had red snapper, which I decided is a very meaty type of fish.

Back through the night to Stroud: Montalbano on TV for Steve and Una, and for me, the joy of packing a picnic for tomorrow! I am off to work early-ish, but will meet up with the gang later.

P.S.I should have blipped Una, but I hate putting people on the spot. Besides, because of her job, she has to pose for the press all the time, so I wouldn't want her to get any more exhibitionist ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.