Tiny Feet at a Winning Cause

Bradford Race for Life was in Lister Park today and I went along to watch Wendy . It's the park that I do my Parkruns in so I know it's a tough course so anyone racing there needs an extra cheer.


There were over 2,200 women and children running for Cancer Research and it is wonderful ,although highly emotional, to see a huge sea of pink all running for people who are living with cancer or for those that have died of cancer. Most people know someone who has had the big C ,so it will always be a univeral cause that will tug at the heart strings. I had tears welling just watching so I am not sure how Wendy held it together.

I didn't manage to catch Wendy at the start but went to watch about 1k into the race and she spotted me first. Our very own Blip athlete was in the front bunch of the running field. I think in the end she finished somewhere around 30th out of 2,200. I know that's not the reason she was doing it but she deserves a massive Blip pat on the back for the endeavour. Hip Hip... Hooray!


Once she had finished,we hung around and watched everyone else run over the line for the next 40 minutes and it was marvellous to see people of all abilities and ages. I chose this Blip as me and Wendy had both thought these babies were fabulous and at this point Wendy turned to me and said she wished she had had the camera for the shot. So this Blip's a dedication to you Wendy.

So if these toddlers can do 3 miles this morning whilst everyone else was tucked up in bed, perhaps we can all exert ourselves a little and do some finger excercise by going to this link to donate ( Only if you want. No pressure. I won't go all Bob Geldof on you)

A very humbling morning and next year I am definitely doing it with you Wendy and won't take no for an answer from those organisers.

Thanks also to Wendy for the coffee and home made buns later oh and the books.

And to my Dad and my Grandad who died from cancer. You are not forgotten and parts of you make me very much who I am now .
( Yup you can all blame my Dad for my wittering skills )
XX

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.