RIVER GOD TYNE - NEWCASTLE CIVIC CENTRE

Went to Newcastle again this afternoon - that's the third day in a row.  I joined a walk organised by the City Guides.  This one was entitled " The Swinging Sixties".  There were 3 guides today - each with about 11 or 12 people in their group.  My guide was Gwen - a lady I know who used to go to my slimming group.

We started the walk at at 2.30pm at The Civic Centre which was opened in 1968. This statue is on the side of a wall.  Its called  River God Tyne.  The River God Tyne  is one of eight rivers represented as sculptures on the front of Somerset House in London. The original mask was surmounted by a basket of coals surrounded by motifs symbolising the Tyne valley. This sculpture portrays the river God in human form. He has a fountain within his outstretched hand  which used to have a constant flow of water coursing across his torso. Originally patinated a dark black colour, the figure has slowly been turned green and brown by the running water.  I don't think the  water has flowed since around 1998/99.

The Civic Centre was part of infamous city council leader T Dan Smith's vision to make Newcastle " The Brasilia of the North " and he set about regenerating the town - and knocking down a lot of old Newcastle as he went.  Dan Smith was jailed for corruption in 1974, a saga immortalised in the BBC drama series ‘Our Friends in The North’.

We soon left the Civic Centre behind and began our tour of Newcastle focussing on buildings and locations which had been around in the 60's.  Newcastle had various music venues in which the popular groups of the day appeared - The Beatles and the Rolling Stones included.  We also saw where the trendiest shops had been located and the first " Milk Bar".  The walk was very interesting - I think its been my favourite one of all the walks I have done.

The walk finished at around 4.30pm and I popped into Waitrose before getting the bus home.  The weather was fine and sunny all day  but there was a chilly wind at times.  This evening the heavy rain has returned.

Another day off for Neil and he has been here all day.  He has a busy week of work coming up - long shifts every day so I may not see him much - if at all.

Steps today - 10,099

PS - Had a bit of trouble uploading my blip shot tonight as it kept being uploaded sideways.  The shot must have been too long and thin.  I didn't have much scope but I managed to make it shorter and wider and it was finally accepted the right way up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.