LOCAL ENTERTAINMENT

Lazy start to the day and then this afternoon I did the ironing whilst listening to the football on the radio.  Newcastle were playing away at Manchester United.  The score was 0 - 0.  Good result and Newcastle played a lot better this week.

This evening I went to the Tyne Theatre and Opera House in Newcastle to see " a tribute to the North East with songs and comedy from the Region".  It was called " Singin Alang The Promenade ".  There were 8 performers - all local to the area. They sang, did comedy and read excerpts from plays.  Also on stage were lots of talented young dancers, 

No one really well known was appearing apart from Val McLane  - an actress, scriptwriter, director and teacher.  She founded the Live Theatre Company in Newcastle in 1973 and  has appeared in numerous television shows including Auf Wiedersehen, Pet alongside her brother Jimmy Nail.

The show contained lots of local songs including The Lambton Worm, Cushy Butterfield, Big River, Keep Your Feet Still Geordie Hinny,  The Keel Row and The Water of Tyne.  The audience sang along and everyone had a great time.  

When I went inside the theatre at around 6.45pm the weather was warm and fine but when I came out at 9.30pm it was lashing down with rain.  There was thunder and lightning too - a really bad storm.  Luckily I had my brolly and I made a quick dash to the bus stop.  I passed a lot of drenched Saturday night revelers who had neither coat nor brolly.  

Neil was here when I got back.  He played cricket this afternoon and his team won.


Steps today - 8,811

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.