Another day goes by

By WelshSi

Finally a kingfisher - but only from a distance

As it was Fathers day and for a change it wasn't raining i decided to go out, no one fancied going so i went on my own.

First stop was the small reserve in Risca, a nice place with very steep paths. Walked all around it and was knackers by the time i got back to the start. The pond that was there wasn't as big as i hoped and was only about 5 inches deep.

Next was the reserve in Allt-yr-yn, Newport. I parked my car at the top go the hill and walked down the long path to the reserve. As i turned into the reserve there was a very large tree that had been felled, its amazing what you find in a felled tree, dog poo in a plastic bag. Why do people insist on making the effort then blowing it cos they can be bothered to dispose of it correctly.

Anyway, the paths were thick with mud due to all the rain we have had lately so i had to tread carefully. At the bottom of the slope was one of the ponds, the water wasn't clear but was alive with insects and fish. Most of the reserve is left natural, including the pond, so i made my way to a point where i could sit next to the pond. After sitting for a while there was a blue flash, finally i have found a kingfisher. I moved close to where it was but it had gone. I made my self comfortable and waited, focusing on a broken tree reaching over the pond, this looked like a great perch for a kingfisher to fish from. After 30mins of nothing i decided to move on and explore a bit more. I moved to the other pond where there were a few people fishing. A young boy asked my what i was looking for and the told me there has been a blue and orange bird flying back and forth. So i again waited and saw nothing, except a jay looking for food and again posing on a stump.

Time was ticking on so it was time to head back to the car, on the way back i passed the first pond i was at. I stood for about ten minutes before noticing in the distance a kingfisher sat on the tree i was staking out earlier. The question is, would it of turned up if i had just sat there and waited. I decided to head back to the same place and wait, again i waited and waited and nothing happened. Looks like i need to make several visits before hopefully nailing a decent image. So all that was left was another climb up a steep hill with all my camera equipment, those are the moment i wish i still had a 110 camera, lol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.