Tribute to Cakeophilia

Those of you who follow the delectable delights of Cakeophilia may remember that she blipped some Mocha Melting Moments a while back.  They did appeal to me, but we are still suffering (?) from a glut of lemons, and much as I like mocha as a flavour, I decided to make a lemon version.

Many many years ago, in a different country and a different life, my passion was baking, and I wanted above all things to be a pasty chef.  I had no mentor, and the careers officer at school scoffed at me, and told me that women could not be bakers.  And because I was a product of my time and my family, I sadly turned my back on thoughts of such a career.  It was the end of an ambition.

Now if I were as bright and determined a person as Cakeophilia I would have battled on regardless.  Be that as it may, she really has reignited in me that love of baking, and I am loving this new journey.  It's been years since I challenged myself in such a way.

So - scary as it may sound, I'm starting to think a bit like a baker.  With these cookies, I took the basic recipe, and added a couple of lemons worth of zest to the cookie dough.  The lemon filling was a tiny bit more of a challenge because I really do love an intense lemon flavour.  So what I did was juice abut 4 lemons, and cooked down the juice to a syrupy tablespoon, before adding it to the butter cream.

Success.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.