Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Crib Goch and Snowdon

An incredible and epic day with a good mate!

We were up early to beat the car park chaos at Pen Y Pass, you have to get there early because it fills up pretty quick.  We then set off up the Pyg track before breaking off at the stile and heading up to Crib Goch, a daunting ridge walk with plenty of exposure either side.  My mate Matt had been up there three years ago, and I trusted him that we could do it after climbing Striding Edge together and of course my epic May walks on Tryfan and Cadair Idris.

When we set off it was misty but clearing, the forecast was for heavy rain to come in about midday but they lied.  It started to rain just as we started the ridge walk proper, and Crib Goch is not really the place to be in this type of weather but for us it was now too late, the only way down was to complete the walk.  We took our time, were careful and got there.  The buzz you get from completing a challenge like this was immense!  Three years ago I would never have dreamed of taking on a challenge like this, but as I’ve got fitter, as I keep pushing myself, as I keep challenging myself, the more I’ve realised I can do so much more.

After a stop off at the café on the summit, we made the decision to head straight down rather than do the horseshoe because the weather was by this time proper yucky.  We headed down the Pyg track, and then took the Miner’s path.  I hadn’t realised how tough a walk that is, it’s a real challenge from the Pen Y Pass car park, and it just keeps climbing and climbing.

Celebrated with a few pints, a bottle of red wine and a cracking meal in the Ty Gwyn hotel, where we staying.  The food is exceptional, and I had lobster thermidor which was just lush!
The blip shows the summit of Snowdon from Crib Goch, and I still haven't had a proper view from the summit.  So that means I've got to go back for a third time now ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.