Pink Polka Dots and Purple Petals

I'm still catching up with back-blips....  Here's one of my pink polka dot plants (Hypoestes Phyllostachya) on Saturday morning, when I brought it into the kitchen to give it a good watering.  To keep these plants looking neat and tidy requires a lot of grooming which I don't really have time to do, and as a result mine have gone a bit leggy.  This encourages them to develop these tiny self-fertile purple flowers which produce seeds.  The flowers are incredibly delicate, and only last a couple of days before they shrivel up and drop off.  If they fall onto soil, they can sometimes sprout into another little plant.

It was a really sunny morning when I took my blipfoto, and I liked the way the sunlight was filtering through the kitchen blind, with the window frame creating a contrasting shadow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.