An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Tiny Tuesday 13

I found a cooperative red back spider in the garden, so decided to give her a photo shoot. I took quite a few hand held shots (one hand holding the other end of this stick), then put her back. I looked at them and decided I needed my tripod, so found her and did it all over again. By the end, I think she was a bit annoyed with me, with all the turning this way and that. (It must be awful to be a model, with all that being bossed around...)

Red backs are highly venomous, but are not really aggressive or fast moving, so you'd have to actually put your hand on her to be bitten. And the fatality rate is actually quite low, except in children and the elderly. No one has died since 1956, as anti-venom is available now. Only about 10% of bite victims need anti-venom. Still, I do always wear gloves when weeding and moving plant pots etc.

She was waving her front legs around a bit, so they aren't too sharp (given the long exposure), but I liked this pose.

There is a different 'pose' in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.