atoll

By atoll

Grassington Interchange

My very first Fathers Day without a father was spent with J, MrsB and my mum today. Not a sad affair at all though. It started with a laugh over in Knutsford as J (who shall we say is like all 20-something's, and not at her sharpest in the morning) spotted with horror she had bought me a 'Happy Birthday' and not 'Happy Fathers Day' card. A quick line struck through and a scrubbed correction followed :-)

For lunch we had an OK quality but very reasonably priced meal at the Devonshire Arms in Grassington (one of my dads favourite mid-week 'pensioner special' places). That was followed by a trundle back to Silsden through Wharfedale with an often repeated walk at Bolton Abbey. It is my spiritual fishing home after all, but as the river was in very heavy spate and pretty unfishable, I wasn't too tormented.

Took a picture of my dads favourite seat by the river near the cricket club at Bolton Bridge which I have added as a Blipfolio shot ( he was disabled so couldn't walk too far but loved visiting the river with mum and Labrador Bess). We missed them both today.

This pic by the way is an interior detail of the glass artwork in the slightly comically titled 'Grassington Interchange' in the main National Parks car park. I only saw one coach in the car park all day today.

The tinted or painted glass art is the work of Daedalian Glass working with the building architects Wales Wales Rawson on this and other glass artwork. The building was Highly Commended in the RIBA Northern Awards a few years ago. To be honest, the building and the main glass panels still looks great, but this small glass atrium light is looking a bit tired and neglected currently. Me playing with iPhoto and Coloursplash Apps has flattered it quite a lot really.

I am sure I will grow out of all these clever Photo Apps, but please indulge me for now.

Postscript: Rick of Chrysalis Arts based in Gargrave, and who were project managers on the public artwork element of the 'Interchange', tells me that it was originally titled a more modest but appropriate 'Dales Bus Shelter Project'!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.