Tiny Tuesday: Fractured tree

A few days ago (here) I posted a picture of a holly tree which I'd cut down in the garden.

When I cut it, I sawed all the way round it, leaving a small section in the centre of the trunk to break off as the tree fell. It produced rather a nice pattern of broken wood fibres which I've tried to show in macro here.

At first I thought that the focus wasn't too good (in spite of using a focus stack) but looking closely shows that the wood is now covered in a thin layer of resin.

In some ways I thought it looked like a futuristic city with skyscrapers packed close together, but perhaps I'm being too fanciful!   :)

(Note: The area shown on the photo is only about an inch across.)

Thankyou to osuzanna for hosting so well this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.