Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Dusk View of Mt Somers from Waikari Hills

After a day with pretty steady rain, this evening the clouds cleared and the sun made a brief appearance. As the late afternoon light faded, I decided to head up the Gorge Road to see the last light on the mountains.

I received a new piece of kit today, so my trip up country was also to try it out. It's a TurnsPro rotating tripod head that's designed for capturing timelapse movies and stills. It's a project that I backed on Kickstarter earlier in the year. Thanks to many likeminded photographers, the project made its target. As part of my backing, I got one of the first run off the production line.  I'm hoping it will come in useful when shooting night sky photography, and I'm trying to calculate some timelapses so that I can track the movement of the stars across the sky.

After taking some photos up on the Waikari Saddle, I was making my way home when I noticed the light up on Mount Somers and the Winterslow range. I parked up and walked down the road a little until I framed up this rustic fence above Raules Gully, which cuts between the foreground paddock and the bush in the middle ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.