Skip's Blips

By Skip

It's sad to say, but...

...the cooler weather, birds preparing for migration, and deplorable state of many flowers speak clearly of the imminent arrival of Autumn. Truth be told, it is perhaps my favorite season for photographs, but I am not looking forward to what follows Autumn, especially after last year's frigid, snowy, five month long winter. So I have decided to relish what's left of colorful birds and flowers, which is why I visited the Arboretum yesterday. You can see my pictures here.

About the blip: This is a male American Goldfinch. The females are comparatively dull and, in the winter, the males are just as dull as the females. They will soon begin to change to their winter garb, and I will miss their cheerful yellow.

About the extra: A late afternoon shot of Lotus Pond in the Arboretum. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.