Capital adventures

By marchmont

Memorials

Up early and down to sunny Leith.  I had an early appointment at the building that replaced Leith Hospital.  All the memorials and donated bed plaques have been retained and are on display on the Treatment Centre's walls. Many commemorate sons, brothers, husbands killed in WW1.  It is sobering to see the way that a hospital service was funded before the NHS.  The large plaque  is for a bed donated as a memorial to the men of the 7 Battalion of the Royal Scots who died in the Gretna disaster. 

After Leith I walked to my next appointment, 2.3 miles.  Phone off so no step counting.  A quick, sunny meeting, and then back down, running the gauntlet of the fliers to the office. 

More meetings in the afternoon including video conference with London.  Somehow it was nearly 7 before I left.

Then home, and guess what I started work again at 9.  I have a task to do so B can have info for the 'superuser' day on Thursday.

But it was a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.