Kea

There was never any doubt about the subject of my blip tonight.  Although I'd taken tui and pigeon shots earlier in the day, this evening Farmergirl texted me to say the keas were back visiting at her house - isn't she wonderful to share her blip bounty with me!

Fortunately I had my big lens on me so I drove up there and had a lovely time photographing them.  Unfortunately I was losing the light so I didn't get any decent flight shots showing their bright orange and red underbelly and wings.  But hey, I still got to photograph keas!

For non-kiwis these birds are a NZ native parrot found in the high country of the South Island.  They're the world's only alpine parrot.  The yellow on the beak and eye here show that this one is a juvenile.  As they age the yellow turns black.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.