misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Vacancy

This little insect hotel a friend brought me from her New Hampshire vacation. I have not set it out before today because I did not want the wasps to take over. But, I have seen some very tiny bees busy around my front door. So, I set the little hotel out near it today to see what would happen.
I do not expect bumble bees to enter.
For me in central, rural NY state the solitary bees dig holes in the soil under some evergreens. This fall I plan to plant a lot of crocus bulbs near where I have seen one emerge this past April.
It came out hungry and voraciously gobbled the few crocus blooms near its nest.
I cannot figure out if they return to their nests at night. I have read about them but not sure about their wintering over habits.
Our very annoying cat Gracie T-t loved to watch the bee emerge and did try to annoy it by patting it with her overly large paws. She regularly sits near this nest (or nests) in hopes of more entertainment.
I hold lots of hope for the bumblebee population. I do see a few honeybees too. I look forward to see who takes up residence in the hotel. They are used here in orchards for tiny mason bees who pollinate at the same time that the apple trees blossom.
Blipper 'cowgirl' wrote to say leafcutter bees lay eggs in these hotels then move in for the winter. None have called for reservations. And I have not seen any bees out there cutting leaves.
Surprise! The extra photos option showed up today so here is a closer view of the hotel with the little bamboo rooms or suites piles together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.