a wildflower patch

I took a space in the east garden grass early this spring. Killed the grass by setting a board on it for a month or so, then planted an old package of wildflower seeds just to see what would sprout. A lot of flowers arrived but they are not all wild. Like the cornflowers and white cosmos. But it is a cheerful patch...

This is not the blip I wanted to post today but I simply could not get the mystery insect to show up true to form and colour in the download.
It was sunning itself on the petals of an orange zinnia. When passing I thought it was a chip off a tan leaf but that didn't seem possible on that brilliant orange flower. .. how could it get up there?
As I paused and waited looking more closely the leaf chip became striped like a herringbone pattern with striped colours of turquoise, gold and something else. It was metallic in the sun.
I rushed inside ... well, as fast as this older body rushes-- and got the camera.
It was still there on the flower when I returned. But it had crawled under a petal. That's when I noticed the very thin legs... a metallic gold. I used a blade of grass to encourage it out to the surface again... finally got it there but it had returned to the dull tan of the leaf-look. So, I waited... and just like switching on a light it became the colourful, shiny, herringbone pattern again and soaked up the sunshine.
I snapped it from several angles although the bright sunshine often washed colours out.
Perhaps that is what happened because it does not look like a leaf, or patterned, or anything like what I was watching. So, I have it it my camera, the zinnia looks beautiful but the mysterious insect lost its magic through technology.
Some times Nature can only be enjoyed in the raw!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.