Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

With the flick of a tail...

I was coming back from an early morning visit to some sunflower fields when I saw a white-tailed doe and her two fawns off in a grassy area.  As quick as you can say "blip", I swerved sedately pulled off the road, put the passenger window down, shut the car engine and got exactly 5 shots before they were gone.  Not the sharpest shot, but it's my favorite of the day...and it's better than my poor attempts at sunrise over the sunflower fields...

Stopped off at one of my favorite trails for a quick walk before home for breakfast.  It was very cool last night so the monarch cats spent the night in the house (in their enclosure, of course) so I waited until it warmed up to take them out.  At one point when I went to check on them, I saw that one had molted (shed its skin)!  That was actually very cool to see especially when I realized that, in addition to shedding its skin, it also shed its face-plate.  Fascinating.  Cat # 3, who I've named Geronimo is now twice the size of the other two and measures in at just under an inch.  That is almost double what he measured yesterday.  He is currently sitting quietly on a piece of paper towel in the enclosure so I think he may be about ready to molt.  I am finding this all totally fascinating!

I posted one sunrise picture (please feel free to be brutally honest with any constructive comments!), a fastidious hoverfly and the molting caterpillar with his pal.  Starting HERE on Flickr. The third shot is the cats - worth a look if you are interested in monarch butterflies.

Hubs is heading over to the "man cave" to work on the race car tonight, so I plan to watch the last two episodes of Last Tango in Halifax.  What a great program - I'm sorry that I'll be totally caught up now and have to await next season...

Meeting up with a friend for some early morning walking/birding tomorrow.  Should be fun.

Toodles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.