uo1ducks

By DevininAsia

Orientation2/Arriving to Jeju

-The field trip to Jeonju was fun, it was nice to get out of the classroom and actually be in Korea. We were pretty isolated on the campus. 
-We visited the Shrine, which I understood as an old king's portrait, which had luckily been unharmed unlike the others of the time period (I paid SUPER close attention as you can tell).
-We had more classes, pretty much 9am-9pm but most of them were extrememly helpful and given by very talented and insightful lecturers. It felt like I took a week of college courses on teaching english as a foreign language!
-On Wednesday (August 26th) we met our new head bosses, found out our school(s), and traveled to our final desinations. I was placed in Seogwipo, which is the smaller city on the south of Jeju island. Many people were placed in Jeju-Si in the north which is larger. The way I understand it, they're both awesome in their own ways! 
-My main coteacher was very friendly and I think we'll work well together. She picked me up this morning and took me to my 2nd school, which I'm grateful for since I'm still getting my bearings. I lucked out and they're still on summer break, so after meeting the Vice Principal and chatting for a bit, they let me go after an hour : ) I was able to come home, unpack, prepare a presentation for my future lessons, and get my life together (somewhat). 
-I have a view from my studio of Mt. Halla (the dormant volcano, highest peak in South Korea)
-I teach at 3 different schools. One on Mondays and Thursdays, my main one on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, and one about an hour by bus on Fridays. They are all elementary schools. I was also assigned drama club at my main school, but it sounds like I can change it to Sports Club or something more up my alley. My coteacher's eyes lit up when I suggested sports instead. 
-I had an ocean view from my 2nd school, let's hope the others are also nice : ) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.