uo1ducks

By DevininAsia

First couple weeks in Jeju (August 26-September 7)

- We flew from the orientation site in Deajeon, it was just about an hour flight. We were all really excited, but had no idea what to expect, having just learned our school and housing placements the day prior.
-I was placed in Seogwipo, which is the smaller alternative to Jeju-Si up north. Seogwipo is known as a bit more laid back with easier access to outdoor activities (so, right up my alley!)
-My apartment is on the top floor, and is a nice studio. It's small, but definitely gets the job done and I have all I need, plus a mountain view to boot!
-I have 3 different schools and figuring out the different buses has been pretty interesting. Since we got to our apt around 8:30 and were without wifi, I wasn't really able to create an intro PPT. I got up early thinking I could go to a coffee shop, but oddly most cafes don't open until at least 8am. Womp womppppp.
-My main Korean coteacher picked me up on my first day and drove me to my 2nd school, which I was grateful for. Turns out, they were still on vacation, so I just chatted with the Vice Principal and they let me go home, which was amazing bc I unpacked and started feeling like a human again.
-Fast forward, I have now taught at all 3 schools. My 3rd school is a 1.5 hour bus ride each way and only has 39 kids! My 2 classes have 5 and 6 students, it's pretty different!
-We went to a crazy bar Friday night, with a ballpit, massive jump rope, fooseball, and all sorts of amenities. Since we RSVP'd everyone got 2 free tequila shots and a bucket, which is basically a bucket you'd use for sand castles, full of a cocktail. I had gin and tonic : ) 
-On Saturday I went swimming in the ocean, and Sunday again, but this time with some beach volleyball in the mix. I'm told the ocean is warm enough to swim in wetsuit-less for another month or so, so I'll definitely be taking advantage of that.
-A friend Aryn and I have been running from time to time, I bought a gym membership for rainy days, and I sometimes have been doing yoga in my apt. The runs really take the cake though, they're gorgeous! Until next time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.