Metric? Jam??

We were supposed to have gone "Metric" a number of years ago now (He'll know) Anyway the point is - umpty several years later Butter was still in 227gm packs: NOT 225gm, or 230gm but in HALF POUNDS, express in grammes. Some have now actually done the deed & you can see 250gm of butter.
Jam/honey came over all funny On the one hand Honey did go metric, inasmuch as it's virtually impossible to buy honey, locally, in a jar greater than 340gm. Guess what 12 oz is in gm? 340.194gms.
LOTS of jam/marmalade is still sold by the pound - called 454gm. NOT, you'll notice, 450gm, 455gm, or 500gm:  oh dear me NO ...
FOUR HUNDRED & FIFTY FOUR grammes.
ANOTHER favourite of mine is the concept that there can be TOO much fruit in to call it "jam".
"But what some hobbyists might not realise is their concoctions can only truly be called "jam" if the end product contains a minimum of 60% sugar, or more."
"Tea break over - back on yer heids".
I couldn't resist a pat on the back for Capital One.
"Back in the day" I hadn't had a Credit card for YEARS. Additionally, the only debt I had EVER been in was the Mortgage. Consequently I couldn't get Plastic Money. They trusted me with one. I subsequently got another in aid of the Firemens' Charity as they NOW call it. While I was struggling, my/our own bank said "WE'll give you one, no bother"
Result I now have three, three distinct, different uses, ALL paid @ month-end.
The point is Capital is the one who does this type of thing on a regular basis. See "Extra"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.