There's always room for more flowers

First of all thank you very much for your support on yesterday's Blip. I was rather emotional yesterday, it doesn't happen often and it doesn't last long, but there are days when it all is just is a little too much and yesterday was one of those days. Don't worry though, I am certainly trying to make the most of my life.

Which today meant some culinary and photo ventures to make my own sambal (Indonesian chilli sauce) because cooking is always a great mode to relax. And of course once it was ready and tasting really nice in my not so humble opinion I had to cook a nasi goreng (Indonesian fried rice) to eat it with for dinner. You can find the sambal here :-) And if you want to try it yourself, here's the recipe:
I used half of a green, yellow and red pepper, de-seeded and chopped very small. Fried it in one tablespoon of coconut oil together with one teaspoon of belacan/trassi (fermented prawn paste) and half a chopped white onion. When the peppers and onion started to soften and brown I stopped the frying. Meanwhile I had chopped half a big shallot, took the skin of 3 cloves of garlic and put them in a mortar, added some drops of peanut oil and about two teaspoons of lemon juice, the fried peppers and onions and pounded the whole mix into a soft paste. Then transferred the paste back to the frying pan together with a coarsely chopped half big tomato and fried on a soft fire until the tomato had blended into the paste. Add salt and more lemon juice to taste. Voila, a fruity spicy tomato sambal :-)


BTW, the flowers are flowers I bought in the supermarket this afernoon to create a harmonious coloured image (the Composition assignment for today)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.