Day 2

We were off to a flying start today and I think it was just about our personal best.  We were keen to get on the road and thankfully we had a day without rain.  The road from West Wyalong to Balranald takes us through Hay and across the Hay Plains.  It was just an incredible contrast to our last trip through this area.  As  you will see from one of my extras today even the Emus were having a great time in amongst the lush green wheat fields.

We arrived in Balranald just on 2.30pm which gave us plenty of time for a stroll through this very quaint country town.  It's situated on the "Mighty Murrumbidgee" River and guess where we're camped tonight - you guessed it about 10 metres from the river.  It is the most idyllic spot and this is one of the prettiest camp sites we've ever stayed at.  I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw a pelican cruising along near the edge of the river bank this afternoon.  I've also posted an extra of the gazebo and fire pit that are some of the facilities that the park offers.  It's not a huge park at all but beautifully maintained.

Tomorrow we will venture very briefly into Victoria and the shortly after we will be in South Australia.  Our destination is Renmark where have secured a camp site right smack bang on the edge of the "Mighty Murray" River.  Sometimes today I thought I must be dreaming!!

Day 2.....West Wyalong to Balranald.....388km
Total travelled - 745km

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.