Controlled addiction

My nature is ever so slightly addictive. Or maybe a little more than that.

As a youngster, I was a real bookworm, needing to get to the end of a book before putting it down and then needing to start a new one to fill the gap.  University seemed to kill that one with the number of chapters we were given to read out of multiple books.  Reading, by the end of the course, became a real chore and given it was an intensive course, there was no time for fiction.

I’ve just started reading a book again before bed and am finding my old need to finish a book rekindling itself.  I know I need to switch the light off but it’s simply impossible. 

Blip is another example.  I’ve had to step back from commenting so much as I couldn’t put it down.  I do still enjoy browsing but know if I start, I can’t stop.  The change in the site helped with the addiction on that front, a bit like university did for reading.  I still don’t think I’ve really got over that change but I suppose it helped me in a way.  I still love to post a picture a day, I still enjoying browsing all your photos and it definitely makes me want to get outdoors, whatever the weather.

I now think I’m addicted to cycling.  However, my inability to go any faster controls that one!  

After cycling up the hill from Askwith a couple of days ago, I thought I’d venture up that way again and head up to Greenhow Hill from Blubberhouses.  What a gorgeous road!  The heather out and the beautiful wildflowers on the verge made it truly stunning.  I managed to miss the heavy downpour that was forecast this morning and, despite the strong breeze, particularly up high, I had a fabulous time.

I slammed on the brakes, much to the surprise of these guys sitting on the bench, when this view filled my eyes coming down past Skyreholme on the way home.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.