Before Mobile Phones

Another day, another moated manor house.  We visited Hindringham Hall, a delightful country house with lovely gardens and medieval fish ponds.  It is only open a couple of times a week, so it was fairly busy when we were there.  I would have loved to have found a quiet corner in the garden to have sat and read my book all day, going for short wanders to admire the house and gardens. 

From Hindringham we headed off to find Salle.  I had read it had some connection with the Boleyn family – and having watched Wolf Hall we were interested to check it out.  It is a small village with a big church.  BB made some friends in the park and played football with them, while TT and I relaxed and had a picnic in the sunshine.

Next stop was Heydon, a privately owned village.  Unfortunately we were just too late to visit the tea room. It is a lovely village, built round the village green and is very picturesque.

This old sign caught my eye in Heydon.  The extra is a flower from Hindringham Hall and BB's reading spot in the gardens by the moat. Can anyone tell me what the flower is?  It reminds me of a magnolia, but it seems to be the wrong time of year for magnolia flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.