FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Words on the ground

A gentle stroll around Horsham this evening to show my flying buddy Helen my home town turned into a wander down memory lane.

We walked through the gardens behind Sainsbury's that was once the location of my secondary school and I spotted some trees where my school friends and I used to hang out at lunchtime when I was as young as 11 years old.

We passed through the remembrance gardens past the little wooden footbridge over the stream, where I remember heading off up Den Hill for cross country runs in the middle of winter. I remarked to Helen how the hill was a killer, not something she had to face growing up in a very flat Lincolnshire.

As we entered the graveyard of the 13th St Mary's Church I spotted this stone with the words carved into it: "For where your treasure is there will be your heart also".

A bit of research tells me it comes from the Bible Matthew 6:21 and one of its meanings is that treasure is not some specific collection of objects, but is rather anything that one values in life. I like that thought.

This evening Helen and I were spoilt with a nice dinner and some bubbles of the alcoholic variety followed by enjoying a couple of documentaries on British Jets with my dad. Poor mum surrounded by Avgeeks!

I'm pleased to report that the family puddy tat is in good health and back to his normal demanding self!

So as I reflect on my day, which was mainly working from home instead of my planned attack of the laundry mountain frustratingly, I value any time I get to spend with my family and close friends. Even more so when it involves visiting historic buildings.

Dunsfold Wings & Wheels Air Show tomorrow as ground crew for the Turb Team. Hoping for sunshine and smiles all round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.