CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Colourscape in Stratford Park

I got an email late in the morning asking if I would represent the council at a photo call in Stratford Park, in an hour's time. I quickly agreed which meant rushing to the printers to check the proofs on our next Neighbourhood Development Plan newsletter.  It will go by hand to every house in the parish with an invitation card to the pop-up shop as part of the public consultation we will carry out in October.

I got to the park on time expecting to meet the freelance photographer from one of the local papers and Sarah W., the organiser of Stroud's Fringe Festival which is starting today for three days.  Apparently a visiting mayor from a town in northern Spain had discovered Stroud and was so impressed he wanted to discuss the possibility of forming a twinning agreement.

Juan eventually arrived with the owner of Colourscape, an immersive experience set inside a series of interconnected geodesic tent structures, which was where we had arranged to meet.  It has been brought to Stroud by the Fringe Festival organisers, led by Sarah W..

It turned out that the photographer wasn't there, and probably wasn't coming.  It was fortuitous that Vicky, another senior journalist on the paper was at the Colouscape with her kids, so she could check on the photographer.. The Fringe is a busy time, and freelance photographers are the staple of cheap images for newspapers these days.

So I offered to use my camera, which I set up in 'nearly foolproof' mode we got a member of the Colourscape staff to take a few pictures of Juan and I, which worked ok.  I have added one of them as an 'Extra Photo'.

Then we went inside for a tour of this amazing colourful world.  I won't try to describe it but it certainly affects one's sensory intake and I would highly recommend it, especially for children.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.