CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Dancing in the street, at Stroud Fringe Festival

I stayed up far too late working on images, and consequently woke very late.  I decided not to go to see and blip a steam train in Gloucester, but instead I would follow the Stroud Fringe Festival procession through the heart of the town. I like these moment when the town ceases to act normally and instead all sorts of people appear to celebrate together and often to dance, given half a chance. 

The procession had various symbolic figureheads and followers with lots of children and folk musicians playing instruments in different parts of the parade. The website says:
Drawing on the Medieval tradition of 'processing', the town centre is set to come alive with a parade of hobby horses, beasts, Morris dancers and musicians in celebration of Stroud’s textile industry. Keep a look out for the spectacular ram’s head leading the procession created by artist Abigail Fallis.
The ram's head was a bit of a disappointment, but the Border Morris men in their black costumes are always a good spectacle and these women in red were obviously having a great time.  I don't know anything more about them.

I went on to check Bank Gardens, the site of the main stage and the centre of the festival.  It was already lively by mid-afternoon although the bands hadn't yet started with lots of families and children all gathered at the heart of the town, which I'm really pleased about.  I think the rest of the festival will be exciting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.