Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

Sailing

Those that know me, know that I have long had a bit of a 'sailing' thing going on. And particularly at the moment I've been boring everyone silly with crazy notions of buying a yacht and sailing it off somewhere exotic and tropical. I've always loved the water and boats, and (as I've been also pointing out profusely), my Grandad was a sailor, so it's in my blood, but it kicked up a gear a couple of weeks ago when I watched the documentary 'Maidentrip' about Laura Dekker, who at the grand old age of 14 set off and ultimately became the world's youngest person to sail solo (and unassisted), around the world. Amazing stuff.

So it was quite funny when out on a walk with family and their cousin & Auntie, and we saw some remote control sailboats. This is probably a more realistic sailing goal, but we can always dream right? We watched them and their respective skippers for a while, and they are really quite amazing. No motors here. Simple wind power is all they need to get underway, and they harness the air just like their full grown counterparts. Great fun.

Had to also put in an extra I took while the family was feeding/watching the ducks & fish over a small bridge. Not that entertaining by itself, but it proper tickled me to see Charlie standing on tip-paws to join in as well. He's a daft'un that dog.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.