Adam's Images

By ajt

Unwanted Guest

I'm off work today! This means I get to do house work left over from the weekend - which isn't so great. After taking the laundry in I thought it best to try my hand at a picture while it's still dry and sunny. I blipped a few flowers in the back garden but they were just flowers. I had a go at arty wood grain on some of the logs in the log store - it never works for me. Then I thought a nice macro of the giant alliums in the front garden was in order.

I took one or two okay pictures, then decided to go after the bumblebees instead. They are nice a big and with good light and fast shutter you can freeze them - they are very busy bees! I tried a few different bees and was able to get pretty close with my macro lens - once I had a dozen or so snaps I came inside to have a look what I'd caught. About 50% went straight into the bin - they do insist on moving all over the place.... Of the rest there were two or three I liked.

The blip I picked isn't the best, but I picked it because you can clearly see the unwanted guest the poor bumblebee is carrying around. It's some kind of mite/tick, I can find lots of pictures of them with Google but I don't know which one it is. I'm sure there is someone who does know. If you believe the internet you can get rid of them by slowly lowering the bee on a twig into water and the little blighters jump off and you end up with a damp but bug free bee!

I think this is a buff-tailed bumblebee (Bombus terrestris) but I could easily be wrong - identification isn't my strong point when it comes to biology...!

You can see this picture large and others in my Google picasaweb macro album.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.