Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Paint fragments

... seen on my morning walk.
My brother left early to catch his flight back to Washington/ Denver so my walk was after breakfast - a bit of a struggle up the hill and I'm not sure if this was the effect of breakfast or my tiredness.  A dull morning so not much good for landscapes, though I did spend a little time seeing if I could isolate one or two views that might work for printmaking.  Anyway the farmer had left an old trailer by the path and they are always good for interesting colours and shapes - even if they are only tiny fragments.  I also spent some time in the wood taking impressionist images of the trees, some of which work quite well (I've never tried it with my point and shoot camera before - I can set shutter speed and ISO with it).  Finally I got into tree types, in the wood there are quite a few beech trees and also some other magnificent mature trees, which are self-seeding all over the place, which I think might beTurkey Oaks.  At some time in the past someone has planted up this stretch of trees with great care.  It's interesting that in the area where there has clearly been mining that the trees are mainly self-sown sycamore.  I'm not sure who owns the woodland now but it clearly has had an interesting past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.