Butterfly hunting at Spurn Point

The weather forecast couldn't have been better for a trip to the coast, but I'm sure thousands of other people felt the same way, so we decided we'd head to Spurn Point.  It was still pretty busy for this part of the coast but I'm sure it was nothing like in Scarborough or Brid.  We had a good drive, but it always takes longer than I anticipate.  I kind of think it's just the other side of Hull and in a way it is, but 30 miles on slow and twisty roads takes as long to cover as does twice the distance on the motorway.   I've been wanting to return to photograph the Common Blue butterflies that I remembered lining the old road down the centre.  It must have been pre 2012 when we were last there as they hadn't moved the Lifeboatmen's families out at that time.  To start with I didn't think I was going to see any butterflies - the whole area has changed now the sea is washing over a longish section of the spur.  I have to say I much prefer it like it is now, you can walk on the estuary side as well as the beach side on a fairly open stretch of sand and shingle.  It has a lovely feel to it, especially on such a beautiful day as today.

There were other butterflies flying, mainly small whites but also a few coloured butterflies - probably Small Tortoiseshell and Painted Lady.  I managed a photo of a Common Darter (at least I think it is) and a grasshopper - lots of these about.  Oh and the rear view of two very dressed up twin girls seeming to watch with envy the boys who were having fun in the water.

Extra:  Ann and Andrew walking towards me with the Spurn Explorer vehicle in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.